Things Don’t Turn Out Right the First Time

I have been excited about the food I made last night for a while. I really wanted to try to see if I could make it. I got home and had to force myself to be busy to make sure that I wasn’t going to have all the food ready too early. I don’t even know why, maybe because this was my first big cooking challenge with the intent of posting my results.

The desire to cook this food didn’t only come from my taste buds, but also from my brother. Funny thing, my brother didn’t know I was made it last night. Normally he is the one that tries to make Asian cuisine, and I thought I would give it a shot myself.

I have a small obsession with crab won ton, rangoons, or whatever you want to call them. They are creamy, garlicy, and all together an awesome clump of flavor. I also love Mongolian Beef. I know, it’s beef, but I still really like the stuff. Its salty and sweet and has that little kick of ginger.

When I decided to try to make crab won tons, I went out searching for a good recipe for it. Goolge is my friend, especially when I once saw a recipe that I liked and can’t find it again. I found this one on a blog, and it just really appealed to me.

I was not ready for the way that they turned out… I’m going to be honest, I was pretty disappointed with the end result, and I have quite a few thoughts on what will help make things better for the next time I try to make them. Not everybody hated them, though, which was surprising.

Look at the spilling of that filling! Oh no!

When you make the won tons, you put the filling inside  the little wrappers, and you seal it, with water. But obviously, when you don’t seal it well enough the filling oozes out once they get in the oven. That was my first mistake. Actually, that wasn’t the first one, the first one was that I didn’t use cooking spray on top of them before they went in the oven, so they didn’t get crispy and a light brown on their tops. That left them pretty chewy towards the center.

I also followed the recipe on the blog for the dipping sauce, but of course Hy-Vee didn’t have the kind of pepper that I needed, so I made an adaptation. It calls for a red serrano, I used a green one. That’s really not a big difference, but my sauce was green, not red.

It’s so green.

I expected it to be far more spicy than it turned out. I actually liked it a lot. There was a kick from the pepper, but the sugar and cooking helped it mellow out a little. I really with the won tons had worked out better, so that the sauce would have had something rich to be eaten with.

I also made Mongolian beef, with the help of my mother, but it was fairly easy in comparison to the won tons. The recipe is supposed to be a copy of the one from P. F. Chang’s, and it turned out pretty tasty. It’s easy, you cook meat, make sauce, put over rice. It all takes a little time, just because of the nature of cooking, but it was so worth it.

The finished product.

Overall, the main dish was good, it was delicious and it turned out well. The won tons could have been better, but they weren’t too terrible to eat. I would do both again, to eat the Mongolian beef again and to try to get the won tons right.

Leave a Reply

