Christmas Cookies

MERRY CHRISTMAS! First of all, I hope you all are having a good day and that you are having a good time with your family. I know that tons of people have several different Christmas gatherings that they need to go to, and it makes this week absolutely crazy. Most of these are family things, but it still can get a bit hectic. just relax, and remember that you have to go back to school or work sooner or later and you should enjoy your time away from that.

Last week was the last week of school before break, and we ended up with a snow day on Thursday. I made some cut out cookies earlier in the week and so I used Thursday to decorate. On Friday, we did have school, the roads were apparently clear enough, and I took some goody bags to my AP Lang class (yeah, the class I blog for). I had too many to keep to myself, and I figured that no one would be mad about cookies. An observation about Friday, though, is that everybody brings something sweet, so some people take your cookies and shove them in their bag along with five other treats that they have already accumulated by third hour.

Anyway, here’s what I did. I used the same cut-out recipe that I posted about earlier. I’d share the recipe, but it’s in a book at home and I don’t have access to it right now and I cannot find it online. I used a little different royal icing recipe, and I let mix for a while longer than I did the first time… So it turned out different. Peppermint extract went in, too, so it’s a bit more Christmas-y._MG_6470

When you frost your cookies, you need a good work space, with a good place to wipe your hand on when you get messy. Also, have extra tips and toothpicks close at hand if something manages to clog._MG_6478_MG_6477

Also, when using royal icing, it’s a good idea to have warm water on hand, to thin it out if it thickens while sitting and waiting to be put on pretty cookies._MG_6476

I did the red icing before I took pictures, so that’s not pictured here. I use gel color normally, it’s easy to do, as long as you’re careful, and there are tons of colors that are already mixed, so you don’t have to goof around to get a purple and not have it look right. You can just buy what you want._MG_6471

Once your icing is colored, make sure your cookies are within reach and that they won’t mess up the other icing that you have already done._MG_6462_MG_6463_MG_6481_MG_6482

After a while of decorating, I stopped taking pictures and got down to business  Just go slow, be silly with your designs, and enjoy your decorating. And don’t forget to share.

Have a great holiday, and a safe New Year.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

