Macaroni and Feta

I have said it before, and I will say it again, I love pasta and I love cheese. I especially love them together, I found a really cool webpage made by the Wisconsin Milk advertising group (or something like that) that has a bunch of different types of macaroni and cheese recipes. I found one that I thought would turn out well with only a little forethought (and even less extra shopping) and be a quick turnaround from beginning to end, I love baked mac and cheese, but I hate having to wait for it, even more so on a week night.

I found a lot on that page that meet those requirements and I want to try them all, but I finally decided to do one that has pancetta ( I’m so sorry, I used bacon this time), feta, and sun-dried tomatoes. We had bacon from the night before when we had breakfast for dinner, so we only needed to buy the tomatoes and the feta. The other ingredients are typical, butter, flour, milk, salt and pepper, ect. Please, if you don’t normally have these things, get them. Oh, also we didn’t use any spinach, I forgot to get it at the store honestly.

It’s a simple process of making the dish, the uniqueness is only from the flavor combination. You make a roux of butter and flour, add milk and pepper and stir until it thickens, then the feta goes in (make sure the crumbles are really small . Finally the bacon and tomato goes in once its melted.

Be mindful of keeping a cup of pasta water before you drain the pasta, it’ll be good to add to the sauce if it ends up too thick, plus it helps it stick to the pasta when you mix it together. Also, for this sort of cheese sauce I prefer to use a rotini pasta as opposed to an elbow macaroni, so I suppose that the title is misleading. The other kind of pastas aren’t going to hold it as well, plus rotini is more fun then elbow macaroni. Obviously any type of pasta that you have works fine, even if it is kitty cat shaped.

The dish actually turned out really good, except for the sun-dried tomatoes. I should put this out there that I despise raisins and other dried berry-like fruit. Of course this means I didn’t like the tomatoes, but I gave it a shot. I didn’t like them in the dish at all, so next time I’ll try it with fresh cherry tomatoes so the icky raisin tomatoes don’t ruin it. Maybe, to keep a little bit of the sweet tomato flavor, I would dice up some romas and let them get nice and tasty in the oven. I just would want to avoid adding too much extra liquid, which could be an issue with the fresh tomatoes.

Overall, the flavor of the feta was able to shine through and the salty-ness of the bacon was nice. I am gonna give this one another shot with the real tomatoes, once I try some other mac and cheese recipes. I would share it with others it’s so good.

Leave a Reply

