More Potatoes

I’m sorry, but I am in love with all things potato at this point in my life. I get super excited about trying different things with potatoes, so there may be a regular appearance from the potato on this blog. Also more vegetables. I like them and all but up to this point in my blogging experience I haven’t been that excited about talking about them. So that’s what you’ll probably be seeing in the near future, just a heads up. That includes this post too…

The whole “issue” behind mashed potatoes is that they are straight up carbs and are normally loaded with tons of fat from the butter and cream that most people use to get them all rich and what not. But honestly, they don’t have to be a bad thing, they can supply some nice flavor and incorporate veggies too.

Normally I am a huge fan of brocoli (and spinach), so that’s what I will want to put in my mashed potatoes (normally I do this on my plate, so I can’t say that I’ve made a big pot of green potatoes before). BUT I’m not that big on cauliflower, I can’t tell you the last time I consciously chose to eat cauliflower. So that’s what I am trying here.

This is pretty delicious, so brace yourself and get your shopping list out so that you can make it soon.

You will want to start by roasting a head of garlic. Cut the top off, making sure all of the cloves are exposed, and rub a good about of olive oil all over it. _MG_6906Wrap it up in tin foil and pop it in the oven for and hour at 375 degrees (BTW 375 is the new 350). Once it’s done, set it aside to let it cool._MG_6907

Bring a pot of water to a boil and salt it well (like you would for pasta). Chop up the potatoes into cubes…IMG_6913…and the cauliflower into florets and throw them all into the water, in two different pots. Make sure the potato pieces are small enough so that they reach tenderness at the same time as the cauliflower, so about an inch and a half cube. But, letting one cool before the other is done is quite alright.IMG_6915IMG_6917 Once everything is tender, drain the water.

Add the roasted garlic, some cream cheese, some milk, a tiny bit of butter, and some black pepper. Now mash it all up in whatever fashion you prefer. Use your food processor, hand-held mixer, or mash it by hand. Taste as you go, and add whatever extra stuff you think you might need.IMG_6919

This stuff can be refrigerated for later, and popped in the oven before it’s served. If you want to do that, put it in a casserole dish and put some small pats of butter on the top before it goes into the oven (it’ll help get some nice color on the top).

Enjoy your garlicy happiness. I know that I sure did.

Leave a Reply

