Spice it Up

To be honest, I haven’t always been a fan of defrosting a chicken breasts, seasoning it and serving it with something else half-assed, and calling it dinner. Even if I cut the chicken into pieces and throw it into the rice it seems that more effort has been put into planning the meal and it tastes better. I know that’s not really the case, and I should learn how to deal with the chicken breasts, but I’m grumpy and I don’t want to change my ways.

However, last week we hit a rut and kind of had to figure out dinner on the fly. My mom recommended we do some chicken and mashed potatoes with a vegetable. And we did. But the mashed potatoes were the special ones (and made the whole vegetable issue a nonissue) and the chicken was nice and spicy.

I did a little searching and found this mix of spices (including: paprika, dried minced onion, dried minced garlic, cayenne pepper, dried oregano, dried basil, and white pepper) that I thought would fit our flavor preferences and got to gathering the stuff. It was only two of us, so I tried to cut things in half, but that was hard, so we just had extra seasoned chicken.

I started by mixing the spices together and realized that we didn’t have dried minced garlic, so I substituted a little garlic powder in. Here is where I wanted to change things up, but felt to lazy, so I didn’t. I could have chopped up a couple of tablespoons of onion and minced garlic and thrown it in to give it a fresh kick.

Also, instead of doing it as a dry rub, I mixed the canola oil right in with the seasonings and poured it over the chicken before it went into the pan.IMG_6916 The rest is simple, you cook the chicken until it is done, not turning it too much, but enough to make sure both sides are evenly cooked.

The cool thing about this is that it has lots of paprika, so once you cook it turns into a blackened coating.IMG_6920 But you can also mix the seasonings (without the oil) onto a batter for chicken strips to spice things up a bit.

I honestly think that this is a good go-to idea for dinner, it’s quick and easy, and we always have these things on hand. Plus it’s a good alternative to the boring chicken breasts that I hate so much.

Leave a Reply

