Quinoa Salad

Saturday was a day of firsts, first time seeing Les Mis, first time making quinoa, and…… Actually that was it for firsts, sorry. It was a normal day other than those things, but honestly, those two things were really different and I enjoyed them, so I thought I should tell you.

My mom and I were on our own Saturday, so we decided to make something new for dinner. We did the honey glazed salmon,  and this quinoa salad. The recipe calls for fresh mint and pears. We couldn’t find any fresh mint at Hy Vee. And I hate pears with a passion (don’t ask, just accept it). So we subbed dried mint for fresh and a couple of apples for the pears.

Other than those two things, we got some quinoa, some olive oil, some lemon juice, some garlic, some green onions, some oregano, and some feta cheese (I love the stuff, by the way, it’s the bomb).

You will need to cook the quinoa, two parts water to one part quinoa, for as long as the package says (we went about 9 minutes, it think). You should also rinse your quinoa in some cool water before you start to cook it so that it won’t be bitter.IMG_6922IMG_6923

While you cook the quinoa, cube the apples into bite-sized pieces, slice up the green onions, and mince the garlic.IMG_6930

IMG_6928

Make the dressing with the oil, some salt and pepper, the garlic, the lemon juice, the oregano, and the mint if you are using dried(if not, put it in with the green onions); and whisk it all together.IMG_6932

Once the quinoa has absorbed all the water, set it aside and let it cool (or not, and the feta will get a little melty and nice).IMG_6929

Mix everything together in a big bowl, making sure to distribute the dressing evenly and break up any clumps that may have formed.

Put it in the refrigerator to chill for a little while, while you finish making dinner, and serve when you are ready.IMG_6945

I honestly can say that I am happy with my first quinoa experience, the salad was pretty good. It is good to make ahead of time, and get one part of the meal out of the way. It would also be pretty easy to take it to a picnic or potluck, and might be a good way to shake those meals up.IMG_6944

I hope you can try this salad along with the salmon. They were both very yummy, but I don’t know if I actually believe that they belong together. that’s just my two cents.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

