Chocolate Cake

I think I have told you before, but I’ll tell you again anyway. I really have not had success in the past with baking cakes from scratch. I can handle cookies, quick breads (banana bread anyone?), and even pretzels, but not cakes. That all changed yesterday, though! And I am so happy that it did.

I have been craving all of the junk food, like crazy, so it’s not really surprising that I gave in and had to find a chocolate cake recipe to make to get my chocolate fix. I searched WordPress and found this post from Not Just Steak and Potatoes with the recipe that I ended up using, but she got the recipe from thepaperseed.com, and they found the original recipe in the Portland Monthly. What a journey. I’m so happy I found at least one of the versions, though. And I am certain I will be making it again.

Another exciting thing about this is that I inherited some pans from my grandparents this week, and got to put them to the test for the first time!

To start you need some flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt._MG_7003

Mix it all together in a LARGE mixing bowl, making sure that there aren’t any clumps in it (especially the cocoa powder). I didn’t have the right sized bowl at first, I almost had and issue._MG_7002

Then add some oil, buttermilk, _MG_7005three eggs, _MG_7008some hot coffee,_MG_7012 vanilla. Mix it using a hand held mixer, at least that’s what I did._MG_7013

It’ll be thin.

Grease your pans and put some parchment paper in the bottom, trimming it to make sure it fits (practice your scissor handling)._MG_7020

Carefully pour the batter into the pans, making sure not to fill them too full.

Depending on your pan depth, the batter may be too much for two 9 inch rounds, so I supplemented with a couple mini pans. You can use some cupcake tins or whatever you want. Just watch those carefully when you bake everything._MG_7024

The 9 inch pans with bake about 35 minutes at 350, but it may take a little longer or may even be shorter than that, but WATCH It!! the mini pans were done really quick, so I don’t have an actual time on those._MG_7032

Once they are done, let them cool and make the ganache to frost the.IMG_7055

Melt some chocolate chips and heavy whipping cream in a double boiler.IMG_7061 Whisking until it is smooth.IMG_7062

Let the ganache cool. And trim the cakes down so that they are even on the top.IMG_7063

Set one layer down, trimmed side up, and place some ganache on it, spreading it around all the way to the edge.IMG_7066

Then place the other layer onto the first, trimmed side down. Then do a crumb coat on the entire thing.IMG_7067

IMG_7074Let that set up for about twenty minutes and finish icing it. Yeah, I switch to a cutting board for personal reasons, but that’s okay, you don’t have to do that.IMG_7078

I added some sliced strawberries around the top and whipped cream in the middle with an awkward trio of strawberry slices.IMG_7079

It was fantastic though, it was so moist and so wonderful. IMG_7083It was fantastic (I know i already said that. But it’s worth repeating!). IMG_7084I’ll be making it again for my mother’s birthday in six months, it was that good. Make it for yourself. You. Will. Love. It.IMG_7085

Here are the specs (follow the order above for the process):

3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups sugar
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (sifted)*
1 1/3 cups canola oil
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cups freshly brewed, extra-strong hot coffee*
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

24 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for checking out my site and trying my recipe. I’m glad you liked it. I don’t know whose birthday I’m going to make it for (hubby isn’t a huge chocolate fan, I don’t even remember if he had a piece of the cake when I made it), but it definitely needs to be made again. Fairly easy and oh SO GOOD!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

