Now We’re Grillin’!

Last week I was out of the country, I was eating awesome Irish food, and it was rainy and cold. But this week I am home, and I’m eating great American food, and it’s actually kind of nice outside. To be honest, I missed cooking my own food while I was gone, so to be able to come home and make what I want (in the fashion that I want) is really nice. Plus it’s been warn enough to grill, so I was pretty pumped about that.

But I didn’t know what to make, I wasn’t in the mood for burgers or chicken and we had a plan to have pork chops the next night, so I was stuck. Then I saw a post on reddit.com/r/food about a personal pizza made on a mushroom and I became very inspired. I tried making one before the poster commented on how she made her’s so mine came out really different, but it was still pretty good.

Also, this meal is really easy to make vegetarian while still using the grill (once summer parties start happening, having a veg option is really nice and people appreciate it). And it’s low carb, so woo-hoo! And finally, they’re really easy to personalize and make unique.

To start, you want to make sure you rinse your mushrooms well. Them mix up a marinade  whatever you would normally use for grilled veggies is good. I used one with worcestershire sauce, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and some oregano and basil. Let them soak it up for at least half an hour, but they can go up to an hour if you are willing to wait.IMG_7113

While they are getting wonderful, heat up the grill and put down a cast iron griddle if you have one, this makes it easier on the fragile mushrooms and it gives some really grill lines. Also, if you spill cheese on it, it’s easy to take inside and clean up.

Once everything is hot and the mushrooms have soaked in their nice bath long enough, put them on the grill for about 10 minutes, flipping twice. IMG_7120Once they are tender, you can start to top them (you’ll need to watch them for their tenderness, if the grill is really hot, they’ll get there really quick, if not, it will take longer; it’s best to have your grill set in the middle though).IMG_7121

You can use whatever type of pizza sauce or cheese that you want, but I used sauce from a jar and some fresh mozzarella.IMG_7124 Once you top them, close the lid and let the cheese melt. If things get drippy, oh well, it’s taste good anyway.

Take them off the grill and let them cool for just a couple minutes and then dig in!IMG_7131

I’m not a huge mushroom person, but I really liked trying these. They’re a relatively healthy take on something extremely unhealthy, so no complaints. I hope you enjoy the grilling weather, and if you  get a chance to try these, do it!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

