Meat Free?

Since I have returned from Ireland I have been doing a lot of thinking, which could be bad but is not. I have thought about the food that I eat, and where it comes from. To be honest, I don’t want to get into preaching about my own individual thoughts, so I won’t. Basically, I want to limit my meat intake (and eventually cut it out completely).

But as an Iowa, I have grown up on pork and beef as a regular part of my diet, so cutting these things out cold turkey seems sort of crazy, especially while I am still eating with my family (I’m going to do this on my own, I’m not forcing my parents into it). I can’t make it work logistically, I just don’t have enough experience cooking with meat substitutes as the main focus. I would die because of an overload of carbs coming from bread, pasta, and fruit; plus I’d probably end up eating a lot of fat.

My plan to conquer these issues that I know I will face, is to tackle a new challenge every two months. Here’s how it would go:

  • April and May: Eat no meat on Mondays (this page has some good inspiration)
  • June and July: No beef (this is the peak of grilling season so veggies and mushrooms will be my friends, also bratwurst (untill August))
  • August and September: No pork (I’ll have to find a bacon substitute)
  • October and November: No chicken (at least I can still have turkey on Thanksgiving)
  • December and January: No turkey (I’ll have to figure out what kind of sandwiches to make before the time comes)
  • February and March: No fish (The final thing to cut out, and it will probably be the hardest to do. I’ll just have to be super careful not to become reliant on fish in the months prior)

And that takes it around to make a whole year. I hope to do updates and talk about the challenges of cutting meat out, all the while learning how to make delicious meat-free foods.

To be honest, though, I’m really excited to try this, even if it doesn’t last. We as people of the modern world do not eat near enough vegetables, and that should really change. If I have no meat on my plate, my veggies will have more room. But you know, it’s also going to good for my health and stuff.

If you have any feedback or recomendations, comment! I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

