Sick Days are Miserable

This last weekend I was pretty sick. I had a fever and my throat was really sore. turns out it was only a virus so we couldn’t get anything to treat it and it had to run its course on its own. That was all fine and dandy until Wednesday when my eyes started to get gross, I got some eye drops for them, and things are all starting to be much better for me. I still have a bit of a cough, but I feel so much better and by energy is back. I had an energy burst Monday night though, and even though I had been home all day, I made some soup.

AND IT FOLLOWED MY MEATLESS MONDAY! I honestly thought I wouldn’t be able to stick with it while I was sick because it would be too hard to cook, but I really didn’t eat much anyway.

In the past my family had bought soyrizo, which is the soy alternative to chorizo, and it was a good way to get some great flavor into the black bean soup that I made.

It turned out pretty good. I haven had many black bean soups, but I’m pretty happy with the way that this one turned out and that I actually gave it a shot.

Before I tell you more about it, this is the recipe I followed, from My Recession Kitchen.

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. Except I did use the can beans and pureed it at the end so that it was a bit more smooth.

I sautéed up some onion and garlic, until the onion was translucent and before the garlic burnt (oh my goodness, do not let it burn!! (I almost did, I wasn’t paying attention…))

Then cook the soyrizo, to get it warmed up and a little color on it. Make sure to break it up. Don’t laugh at what it looks like when it comes out of the tube.

Then you add your beans, and the stock, and let it cook.

Then finish it off with the cumin, oregano, and cilantro.

I pureed it a bit, I don’t know if that was the best thing to do, but hey, it still tasted great.

This is how it looked. I wish I would have some guacamole or cheese or something to top it with, but I wasn’t 100%, it’s okay.IMG_7190

I like the flavor, I would make it again, with less pure action. My mother also liked it, so maybe once it’s cool again.

Leave a Reply

