The Social Network

This is not about a movie, in fact I haven’t seen The Social Network (this is not because I didn’t want to, but because I actually don’t watch that many current movies), this is about the social networks that I have recently gotten into. that sounds weird. It really is, in all seriousness.

In the last few weeks, I have made accounts for both Pinterest and Instagram. I don’t know what drove me to do it, but I guess I’m turning into a sheep. I have friends that use both, and regularly talk about them around me, and I figured I should just get my own account and see if I actually like them. I kind of do, though.

I like Instagram because it’s socially acceptable for to post crappy pictures of my food and my friends with actually like them. Also cats, people like cats. The people who I follow also post pictures of their cats and food (not normally together, cause that would be icky).

I like Pinterest because it’s fun. Actually, I don’t care much for it… I don’t like how it works, I can’t the hang of the layout or anything, but I still made an account and hope to find some use of it, even if that means getting my blog out in the world.

In all reality, though, I really dig Foodgawker. I guess it’s not really a social network, but it kind of is for food bloggers. You need to go check it out if you haven’t already, you’ll be gawking for days at that food.

And reddit.com/r/food is a pretty good network of food people… Yeah, people who are made of food. I posted a while back, it was a picture of that one sandwich that had avocado and cheese on bread. It got some good feedback. That community is full of it (good feedback and constructive criticism). I find a lot of inspiration there, and I honestly wish I had some of the skills that these people have. The cool thing about this group is that not all of them are chefs or even food bloggers, so everybody has real-life cooking advice for others.

These are the places I spend my time online (in regard to food). And I really like them. Now you know my secrets, but that’s okay, if you know me in person you probably already know about all of this.

Leave a comment